A Visit to Harpers Ferry – 9/12/11

I am in this part of West Virginia for work this week. I arrived at the hotel early in the afternoon and took the opportunity to see Harpers Ferry while I was in the area. I parked at the lot at US340 and Shenandoah St. – This lot is part of the National Historic Park and costs $6 to park the car – this fee covers 3 days, but the parking lot does close after dark.

I headed north on the AT at the road intersection and headed toward town. A short way down the trail there is a blue blaze side trail that leads to the ATC headquarters. This is a pretty cool place and worth the side trip to visit. I looked around the museum shop and got a AT magnet for my car. I headed down High St. toward the old lower town – very steep going down but a neat walk into the historic area. There a lot of cool old buildings that are here and I would love to explore more fully sometime in the future. I found the AT in the lower town and headed over the bridge into Maryland.

I was a bit jumpy going across the bridge – it is pretty high up and its a long way across. It shares the trestle across the Potomac with an active rail line. Glad there was not a train going across while I was walking. At the end of the bridge, the train goes through a tunnel and the trail goes down a cool staircase down to the C&O towpath.

This trail was nice and level – may be the flattest stretch of the AT – and covered with gravel. This was a bit tough on the feet but the walking was quick. I made good ground headed along the river. Along the way there were a bunch of walkers and bicyclists. In all a nice walk. Saw some geese and deer along the trail. Also quite a few canoe/kayakers in the river. I reached the turnaround at Weverton and headed back to Harpers Ferry.

I saw a train going by on the way back which was pretty neat. There were many remnants of the canal along the path, including remains of 2 canal locks. I recrossed the bridge and headed up the 1800’s era stone steps through the town. There were some neat ruins along the way. I continued on and passed Jefferson Rock – a really cool historic place with nice views up and down the Shenandoah River.  I saw a couple more deer on the way back to the car and finished up the hike at the parking lot.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

